If you maintain machine registrations for other users, or if someone else maintains machine registrations for you, you can add or change the list of people who can view and edit the information and options for the machines to which you have access.
To view, edit or change the list of people with access to your information, click on the [View/Update Protections] link at the top of the Machine Information page.
When you register a machine, your user ID is listed in the Protections list as one of the identities with access to the data. That's fine if you're registering the machine for yourself, but if you're registering it for another user, you should add that user to the protections list to associate them with the machine as described in Adding a User.
Additionally, if you are maintaining machine data for other users, you most likely are a member of a group that has access to the data. In that case, you can remove your user ID from the protections list as described in Deleting a User or Group, Since you are a member of the group with access to the data, you will still be able to update it in the future.
WARNING! If you delete your user ID from the Protections list and either you are not a member of the group that has access or you also delete the group, you will not be able to view or edit the record later.
The Protections table on the View Protections page lists the users and groups who have access to the information for the . The following fields are listed for each user or group (click on a field name for a description):
To change the rights for a user or group, select the Level and check the rights that you want to give the user or group, then click on the Update button.
If you want to give a specific user the ability to view, update or add protections to the machine, do the following:
If you want to give a group the ability to view, update or add protections to the machine, do the following:
If you no longer want a particular user or group to have access to the machine, click on the Delete link in the Protections table. The user or group will be removed from the table.
WARNING! If you delete your own ID from the protections, and you are not a member of any of the groups listed, you will no longer have access to the machine information.