About Network Registration

Using the Main Page
Selecting a User or Group
Viewing Machines
Signing Off

Registering a Machine
Selecting the Location
Selecting a Building Subnet
Entering Machine Info
Setting Protections
Submit the Registration

Editing a Machine
Editing Basic Information
Setting Protections
Adding DNS Resources
Adding DHCP Options
Deleting a Machine

Setting Protections
Editing User/Group Rights
Adding a User
Adding a Group
Deleting a User or Group

Searching Machines

Glossary

Using the Main Page

When you logon to the Network Registration System, you are first presented with a list of machines that you have registered. You can select whether to view machines for you or for a group that you administer. From this page you can, view or edit machines already registered or register new machines.

You can also sort the lists or search for machines that match certain criteria (see Searching Machines).

You can always return to the Main page by clicking on [Main] at the top of any page in the system.

Selecting a User or Group

At the top of the page is a line that begins "Registered machines for:" If you have access to view or administrate machine registrations for another user, this line will be followed by a drop-down list of the groups or users that you have access to adminstrate.

To view the machines for a user or group, select the user ID or group name from the drop-down list, then click on the Refresh button.

Viewing Machines

The first table on the Main page is a list of machines registered for you or for the group selected at the top of the page. For each machine, the following are listed:

Editing a Machine
To edit the registration information for a machine, click on the hostname of the machine and follow the instructions in Editing a Machine.

Registering a Machine
To register a new machine, click on the [Register New Machine] link and follow the instructions in Registering a Machine.

Searching Machines
If you have a large number of machines in your list, you can search for machines by clicking on the [Search Machines] link and following the instructions in Searching Machines.

 

Signing Off

When you login to the Network Registration System, a "cookie" is used to identify you to the server for a period of time. If you are using a computer that is used by others (such as a machine in a computing cluster) logging off will not destroy the cookie, and so another user may be able to view and edit your registration information for a short period of time after you have logged off.

To avoid the potential for this problem, click on the [Signoff] link to destroy the cookie on the computer you are using.


WPI Network Operations